SCOTT JONES Network Operations Director

ALISON SMITH Teaching & Learning Director

MARY PETERS Director of Special Education



DEB PAULMAN **1**dministrator

314 West 1st, PO Box 915 Ogaliala, NE 69153

Phone: 308-284-8481 Fax: 308-284-8483

1221 West 17th Street North Platte, NE 69101

Phone: 308-534-2416 Fax: 308-534-5870

December 14, 2018

Ed Toner Chief Information Officer 501 South 14th Street, 4th Floor PO Box 95045 Lincoln, NE 68509-5045

To the Office of the Chief Information Officer:

Since its inception, a primary focus of Network Nebraska has been reduced costs based on common infrastructure through collaboration. Although cost is still important, there are benefits that are equally, if not more significant for participants. Network Nebraska has consistently improved the speed and reliability of the network. Redundancy across the state and tools that help address monitoring and security issues have become focal points. The ability to provide requested services such as the offering to Network Nebraska members to license Zoom for video conferencing at special rates through a University of Nebraska at Kearney agreement have and can be made available.

With that said, it is openly apparent in discussions with members, prospective members, government agencies/officials, and the public that the accomplishments and benefits are not well known or recognized outside the tiny pockets of those with direct affiliation to the Network Nebraska leadership. This in conjunction with the need to complete a marketing survey to make sure that the network is still meeting the needs of members brought about a motion to create a informational video, a survey, and an infographic to gather data and disseminate information in regard to the accomplishments and continued success of Network Nebraska.

The Network Nebraska-Education Advisory Group would recommend that Holly West's expertise be utilized in producing marketing materials that will communicate to Network Nebraska-Education members and prospective members the benefits and network management services that members receive. The communication will be directed toward both non-technical and technical staff and adjustments will be made to the message and materials that best meet the needs of the projected audience.

We pass this recommendation on as co-chairs of the NNAG and would answer any questions that you may have in regard to the discussions that resulted in this recommendation.

Debbie Schroeder, co-chair NNAG (Higher Ed)-University of Nebraska

Scott A. Jones, co-chair NNAG (K-12)-ESU 15 & 16

Delmie Schroder

BOARD OF DIRECTORS BY DISTRICT:

1 Julie Boettcher, Hershey

2 Rodney Rayburn, Brady

#3 Bill McGahan, No Platte

4 Robert Jones, Stapleton

5 Nikki Bergeron, No Platte

6 Judy Thompson, No Platte

7 Mel McNea, No Platte

#8 Margaret "Sooky" Marks, Mullen

9 Norma Mayer, Grant

10 David Lawler, Paxton

11 Dayton Reichman, Venango

12 Claudia Melvin, Arthur